Even First Time DWI Offenders Can Face Stiff Penalties - Don't Fight This Without Legal Representation
Minnesota Law Enforcement and Prosecutors charge a huge number of DWI Offenses every year – tens of thousands of cases every year!
If you are convicted of your first DWI offense, you may face the following penalties:
Up to 90 days in jail (up to 1 year if charged as a Gross Misdemeanor)
Up to $1000 in fines, plus county surcharge and law library fee (up to a $3,000 fine if charged as a Gross Misdemeanor)
License Suspension of up to 1 year (in some cases special license plates and ignition interlock at your expense may be required)
0-2 years of probation (up to 6 years of probation if charged as a Gross Misdemeanor)
Some form of alcohol education class unique to the county which may be from 8 hours to two days –including staying overnight
Sentence to Service Work (roadside cleanup) or Community Service Work
Minnesota DWI lawyer Charles R. Segal is familiar with DWI charges and how to successfully defend them. By challenging the current charges, attorney Charles R. Segal can help you avoid some or all of these penalties.
If you are charged with a DWI you must consult with a DWI attorney as soon as possible so your rights can be protected and so you can get past this as soon as possible.