A Second DWI Offense is Not Something You Want to Fight Without Legal Representation
Minnesota Law Enforcement and Prosecutors charge a huge number of DWI Offenses every year –tens of thousands of cases every year!
If you are convicted of your second DWI offense within 10 years, you may face the following penalties:
Up to 1 year in jail (with a minimum 30 day sentence and a minimum 48 hours in custody)
Up to $3000 in fines, plus county surcharge and law library fee
License Suspension of 1-2 years
License Plate Forfeiture
Requirement of Ignition Interlock on your vehicle in order to drive during your revocation period
Vehicle Forfeiture if your BAC is over 0.20% or if you refuse the test.
Mandatory Bail of $12,000.00 or alcohol monitoring if your BAC is over 0.20% or if you refuse the test
0-6 years of probation
Some form of alcohol assessment and education unique to the county which may include outpatient or inpatient treatment.
Sentence to Service Work (roadside cleanup) or Community Service Work
Minnesota DWI lawyer Charles R. Segal is familiar with multiple DWI charges and how to successfully defend them. By challenging the current charges, attorney Charles R. Segal can help you avoid some or all of these enhanced penalties.
If you are charged with a second DWI you will be facing enhanced penalties including mandatory jail! Don’t take a chance with your freedom and your future –you must contact a DWI attorney as soon as possible so your rights can be protected and so you can get past this as soon as possible.